Ode to a Rainbow Mug

It made me smile,
Now there could be tears.
I had it for a while –
Eleven years
In actual fact –
But now it’s cracked.

Ripping at tape,
Causing a rift
Until paper gaped,
Revealing the gift
Marked “fragile”
From the birthday pile.

I pulled out
A mug: green inside,
With a handle stout,
And a top so wide.
Outside it’s like a rainbow
And just perfect for cocoa!

But also for coffee,
And tea with a lemony zing,
A hearty builder’s tea,
Or just about anything.
Colours to make me glad;
Held hot drinks for when I was cold or sad.

Now today I despair
At my momentary lack
Of much needed care
That led to a bump, then a “crack”!
Easing down and right through,
Meaning it won’t see another brew.

Leave a Reply

