Glass Jars

One evening a few months ago I was struck by the reflections and shadows a group of empty jam jars were casting on the surface of my white desk and the off-white wall behind it.

DSCF7904

So much so I decided I wanted to capture the little scene straightaway.

DSCF7905

Grabbing a sketchbook, I made a quick sketch using biros.  Then I decided I’d like to turn it into a painting.

DSCF7917

The scene was not completely black, grey and white, as there were also some subtle hints of other colours visible.

DSCF7918

Not wanting the painting to look solely like a tonal sketch on this occasion, I was keen to add these tiniest accents of colour.

DSCF7919

That said, because I usually love to employ lots of bright colours, I did like the idea of having a very scaled down palette for a change.

DSCF7924

As a result, there are just a few vague yellow, green and blue highlights seeping into the glass and the shadows and reflections.

DSCF7951

Acrylics on 9″ x 12″ canvas.
4 thoughts on “Glass Jars

Leave a Reply

