Dahlias

DSCF7873

This year I thought I would try to grow some dahlias because I know that my Dad particularly likes them.  I knew absolutely nothing about them – and I mean NOTHING – apart from the fact that their flower heads looked pretty in a photo.  So I bought some seeds and planted a small number.  Five seeds germinated, I transplanted them, and they flourished into the small plants you can see on the bottom shelf in the photograph above.

 

DSCF8018

DSCF8019

The weeks passed, the dahlias grew larger and I transplanted them again, this time into large pots, as you can see in the photographs above.

 

DSCF8103

It’s lovely to watch them growing ever taller and bushier.

 

DSCF8214

 

It will also be interesting to learn how much they do or do not thrive in pots.  One of the bonuses is that when we have had windy weather we have been able to move them to more sheltered spots temporarily.

 

DSCF8217

DSCF8218

DSCF8225

DSCF8226

DSCF8227

5 thoughts on “Dahlias

Leave a Reply

