Image

A Pollen Shower

DSCF8212 DSCF8211

About a month ago I was showered with pollen!  There I was, minding my own business in the greenhouse, moving pots around as you do, when I just happened to bump into one of my sweet corn minipop plants.  At that moment I could have been forgiven for thinking I was hunched up under a giant sieve of yellow icing sugar as a fine powder rained down!

These plants have been a joy for the senses.  They look tall and wiry as they reach up to the inside of the greenhouse roof.  In the area of the greenhouse near to where they stand, there is a distinct honey scent in the air at times.  When a breeze blows in through the open door or windows it rustles through their papery sounding leaves, like they’re whispering.  And apart from anything else, it has been nice to see signs of a cob on the way.  But now I wait to see what will happen next.  With some plants beginning to wind down, I’m not quite sure what to expect.

One thought on “A Pollen Shower

Leave a Reply

