“Dahlia Parent and Baby”

My first experience of growing dahlias, so far, has been a joy.  At the moment we are experiencing some night time temperatures here that are a little too close to frost for comfort this early in the autumn, not least for vulnerable plants.  In fact, I’ve heard it said that one frost can pretty much kill off dahlias.  I don’t know if that is true or not, but since this seems to be their time of year for coming into their own, I’d hate to lose them so soon.  The trick up my sleeve is that, because they are in pots, the pots simply go into the shed overnight and then come out again the next day, unless the weather is bad.  So I’m hoping this will preserve the dahlias a bit longer.  If they were in the ground I know they would have to face whatever came their way, but they have gotten used to being pampered a bit, what with trying to dodge any easterly winds and the like that have come this way at times in recent weeks.

Anyway, admiring their blooms as I do, the other week I did a drawing and a quick watercolour sketch of one of the blooms and a bud.  More recently, I used them to paint this acrylic painting.

Let’s hope the dahlias last a bit longer! 🙂

DSCF8015

#10

Acrylic painting on a 5″ x 7″ canvas board.

4 thoughts on ““Dahlia Parent and Baby”

Leave a Reply

