31 Crochet Patches For 31 Days

Well who would have thought that a whole month of 2016 could have gone by already?!

Now I tend to have a bit of an odd relationship with New Year’s resolutions.  Not least because I don’t fancy the guilt if I break them, or expending the energy on justifying to myself why it was not only a downright good idea, but necessary that I break them.  😉  So I don’t make them.  Any more.

That said, I thought to myself just before the turn of the year, “Wouldn’t it be cool to crochet a square for every day of the new year?”  Or some other shape.  Then I could either make a mammoth blanket at the end of it, or several smaller blankets, or some other such project depending what I came up with.  Hmm.  Sounded fun, but the idea of committing myself to something that sounded suspiciously like a resolution threatened to send me into a mild panic.

Instead, I told myself that, because I liked the idea, I would try to make a shape for each day, and see how I got on.  If I made two one day, none another, so be it, but we would see how it would go.

So here we are with thirty-one crochet patches for the thirty-one days of January!

 

DSCF8183

 

Of course, it would have been better if I’d sewn the ends in before taking the photo, but we won’t worry about that.  We’ll just say I was going for authenticity.  😀

No rules, no pressure as to the next month or months.  We’ll see how it goes.  😉

On the gardening front, I haven’t done much of note recently, other than looking at seeds in garden centres and trimming the dead flower heads and leaves off the winter pansies, cyclamen and primroses in My Barrel Garden.  But when we had a quick frosty interlude the other week, I did get a bit happy snapping away with my phone camera.  Novelty is a marvellous thing, and I’d just discovered filters on it!  If you’d like to see those pics, hop across to my Facebook Page by clicking on the box above right.

 

Happy Tuesday! 🙂

4 thoughts on “31 Crochet Patches For 31 Days

  1. I have thought of learning a new stitch a day, but I just couldn’t commit to it. I have a toddler and infant at home, so it’s a bit hard to commit to a daily routine other than the one we already have. 🙂 Your shapes look great! I am excited to see the final project at the end of the year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A new stitch a day would be so cool, but I don’t think I could face it! 😀 Over the years I’ve had so many ideas about doing some new thing daily for a while, but the routine of it all overwhelms me a bit on the days when I struggle to fit in whatever the habit of the time is. That’s why I didn’t set myself a strict target but thought I’d see how things go. If I manage it it might feel like an achievement, but if I don’t I’m hoping I won’t beat myself up about it too much! Thank you very much for your kind words and for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

