Happy Herbs and Friends

On Tuesday I took some small herb plants and my strawberry Temptation plant from an indoor windowsill to live out in the greenhouse for now.

DSCF8496

Having been given some pretty pots, I transplanted some rosemary and mint into two of them.

DSCF8495

And I transplanted some of my thyme and my parsley in the other two.

DSCF8497

The strawberry Temptation plant I transplanted, along with two small courgette plants I had been raising in the greenhouse, into large black pots.

DSCF8561

Today I have been transplanting most of the lavender plants I have grown from seeds. They came up like cress, surpassing my expectations, so I wanted to find a home for as many of them as I could.  Some, which I grew from seeds last autumn, I have planted in this big square pots.

DSCF8559

I have also planted some of the plants from the same batches in the edge of a flower bed.  It contains a rather uncompromising clay soil, so we will have to see how the lavender grows, but they were too good to waste.

DSCF8557

Amongst the smaller plants are three larger plants which I grew from seed the autumn before last and transplanted out into a trough last summer.

DSCF8564

When I couldn’t fit them all in, a few left over plants were planted in a corner and thrown onto the garden elsewhere, rather than throwing them away.

We’ll see how they do.

(More pictures on the Fidgety Butterfly Facebook Page.)

Leave a Reply

