“Minty Valentine” Hat

Following on from yesterday’s post, I have another Valentine themed hat to show you, but this one is adult-sized.  This hat is crocheted throughout.  Again, I used two strands of DK yarn to give it a chunky look and warm feel.  Five light pink and two darker pink crocheted hearts decorate this hat.  While I know some people love Valentine’s Day, I also know that it holds no appeal whatsoever for some people, which is why I thought it would be nice to make the colour scheme of this hat a little more subtle.  While it has pinks and hearts, it is not the traditional red and white that we so often associate with Valentine’s Day gifts, and which I know I usually gravitate towards when I’m trying to come up with ideas for that occasion.  Having used two strands of yarn at a time, I was able to make a number of soft, gentle colour combinatons using mixtures of pinks of different shades and a little white.  Then, nearer the bottom, I added a little green and some light blue just to mix things up a bit.  That is where I feel the “mintiness” comes in, hence the name I’ve given this hat.  Largely because of the colours, I feel this hat could be worn any time it’s cold, not just in mid-February!

 

dscf9063

“Minty Valentine” hat

Approx.22cm/8 and 1/4″ from top to bottom.  Approx. 52cm/20″ around the inside of its brim.

 

Kinda cool and minty, yet warm and snuggly at the same time!

 

3 thoughts on ““Minty Valentine” Hat

Leave a Reply

